Welcome to Rio

IMG_2103    IMG_2101

I arrived in Rio a few days ago, today was the first day at the academy. I’d decided to train at 2X world champion Terere’s academy in Ipanema, which is a sardined squished bus ride with crazy ass bus drivers attempting to kill all present. I was feeling a little nervous about getting there, I guess it’s always kinda scary when you go somewhere for the first time, add that to the fact my Portugese sucks ass at present, add that to the fact I want to make a good impression as I’m training with the dude who is my all-time favourite grappler so I don’t want to come across as a penis!

I walk in through the door there is 4 dudes on the mats and Terere is going through some techniques with one of his blue belts. Straight off the bat I was made to feel welcome, one of his brown belts came and introduced himself. As soon as Terere had finished his technique, he came to welcome me to the academy. I was a little star struck and immediately wanted to tell him he was my hero and that his game was so ridiculously sexy that I almost get a semi watching him fight, fortunately I managed not too and just about introduced my self as ‘Moz’.

The structure of the class was super chilled, it was pretty much a drilling session, no warm-up which suits me as laziness is key to my game. We did 4 techniques focusing on spider-guard & X-guard. We drilled an sweet single leg X-guard to belly down foot lock, gonna spend the rest of my week drilling out this badboy. Terere taught the techniques in Portugese then in English which was super helpful.

We finished drilling and started to roll. I nearly swallowed a nut when Terere grabbed me to roll first, not too many people who can say they have really kicked it with their hero, like wrestling with The Macho Man Randy Savage or spending an afternoon learning to transform with Optimus Prime, this shit was seriously gangsta! We did 7 minute rounds, I obviously spent the next 7 minutes being abused, every time he choked the piss out of me I was thinking ‘does it get more awesome than this!’.

Awesome session, felt like I was getting a mini private with only 4 dudes on the mats. Everything was competition minded, Terere was a amazing teacher. This next year is going to be beast business!

Leave a Reply

